
The Quarantine Requirement and Testing Options 
https://www.mass.gov/forms/massachusetts-travel-form 

All individuals arriving in Massachusetts by any means or mode, including Massachusetts residents who 

have left the state for anything more than transitory travel, are covered by the Massachusetts travel rule. 

Accordingly, even travelers not required to complete the form should act in compliance with the rule. 

The rule requires that you MUST quarantine for 14 days unless you:  

1. are coming from a lower-risk state or  

2. can produce, on request, proof of negative test result for COVID-19 from a test administered on a 

sample taken not longer than 72 hours before your arrival in Massachusetts, or  

3. meet the exemption criteria. 

MUST quarantine until you receive the negative result. You may obtain a test at your own expense after 

your arrival in Massachusetts but you MUST quarantine until you obtain a negative result. Individuals 

who fail to quarantine are subject to a $500 fine per day.  

Testing as an Alternative to Quarantine 

You do not need to quarantine for 14 days if you took a test for COVID-19 and have received a negative 

result. The specimen for the test must have been collected no longer than 72 hours before your arrival in 

Massachusetts, and the testing must be by a method approved by the Massachusetts Department of 

Public Health. Upon request, you must be able to demonstrate proof of the negative test result. 

If you took a test prior to your arrival but have not received your negative result, you MUST 

quarantine until you receive the negative result. You may obtain a test at your own expense after your 

arrival in Massachusetts, but you MUST quarantine until you obtain a negative result. Use the COVID-

19 testing map to find a site near you.  

Information about approved molecular tests can be found in the Department of Public 

Health Guidance. A negative result from an antigen test must be confirmed by a negative result from an 

FDA EUA-approved molecular (PCR) SARS-CoV2 test, on a sample obtained 72 hours or less prior to 

arrival in Massachusetts. Serology tests will not be accepted. 

Visitors are strongly urged to obtain a negative result before traveling to Massachusetts. 

Testing for children, 10 years and younger, who are traveling with an adult from their household is not 

required. 

Individuals who do not comply with the requirement to quarantine are subject to a fine of $500 per day. 

 

 

 



Requirements for Quarantine 

https://www.mass.gov/guidance/guidance-for-travelers-arriving-in-the-commonwealth-of-
massachusetts#requirements-for-quarantine- 

Travelers who do not fall within the one of the three exemption categories detailed above:  

(1) coming from a lower-risk state,  

(2) meeting the 72-hour testing rule, or 

 (3) meeting a limited circumstance-specific exemption, must quarantine beginning immediately 

upon arrival in Massachusetts.   

The quarantine must continue for a period of 14 days unless the traveler leaves the State sooner.  

The requirements for quarantining are as follows: 

 Travelers, along with their travel party, must separate from all other people for 14 days. 

 Travelers must not be in public or otherwise leave the identified quarters. 

 The living quarters must have a separate bathroom facility for each individual or family 

group. Access to a sink with soap, water, and paper towels is necessary. Cleaning 

supplies (e.g. household cleaning wipes, bleach) must be available in the bathroom. 

 Travelers must have a way to self-quarantine from other household members if a fever or 

other symptoms develop, in a separate room(s) with a door.   

 During the quarantine period, no one else should be in the living quarters other than those 

in the Travel Party, including hotel staff or delivery persons, as applicable. 

 Food must be delivered to the living quarters. 

 Travelers must have a sufficient supply of face masks or face coverings to wear and must 

be compliant with Massachusetts’ masking order: https://www.mass.gov/doc/may-1-

2020-masks-and-face-coverings/download. 

 Travelers are not to leave their living quarters except to receive urgent medical care.  

 Travelers should engage in proper hygiene including washing hands frequently using 

soap and water for at least 20 seconds.  If soap and water are not available, an alcohol-

based hand sanitizer that contains at least 60% alcohol may be used. 

 Travelers should remain aware of potential COVID like symptoms including:  fever 

(temperature over 100.0 degrees); cough; difficulty breathing; shortness of breath; chills; 

muscle or body aches; runny nose or nasal congestion; new loss of taste or smell; 

headache; nausea; vomiting or diarrhea. Travelers with any of these symptoms should 

immediately contact a healthcare provider. 

 If no one in the Travel Party develops symptoms, then the travel party may continue with 

their normal activities after 14 days. 



These requirements are in addition to Massachusetts requirements for wearing a mask or 

other face covering in both indoor and outdoor settings, any time you cannot socially 

distance and remain 6 feet from other people. 

Obtaining a post-arrival COVID-19 Test in order to be 

released from Quarantine 

A traveler who is required to quarantine may be released from the obligation to continue 

quarantining upon obtaining proof of a negative test from an FDA EUA-approved molecular 

(PCR) SARS-CoV2 test, which was administered after the person’s arrival in Massachusetts. 

Travelers may temporarily break quarantine to receive testing.  Travelers must arrange for the 

test at their own expense and then are required to immediately continue quarantining until 

receiving a negative test result or the 14 days is complete. Guidance on how to obtain a test in 

Massachusetts can be found here. 

What Happens if I Develop COVID-19 Symptoms While in 

Massachusetts?  

The 72-hour test is a diagnostic test that is a point in time clinical measurement. If you develop 

symptoms, you may need to be tested again and may need medical attention. 

 

Leaving Massachusetts Prior to Completion of Quarantine 

A traveler may choose to leave Massachusetts before the completion of his or her 14-day 

quarantine. 

Potential Other Traveler Scenarios 

1. Does this apply to students arriving from other States or foreign countries to attend 

college or university or boarding school?  

Yes.  The travel rule applies to all persons entering Massachusetts from any point of origin.  A 

student who enters Massachusetts from any place not included on the list of COVID-19 lower-

risk States must quarantine for 14 days if the student cannot provide proof of a negative test 

result that meets the standards of the 72-hour test rule. 

2. Does the rule apply to parents, guardians and family members who are dropping their 

students off for boarding school or college/university? 

Yes. If a parent/guardian/family member is entering Massachusetts only to drop off the student 

and then immediately leaves the campus and the state, then they would meet the exemption of 



transitory travel.  If they are staying overnight, then they are subject to the requirements of the 

travel Order.  

Parents, guardians, and family members who do not meet the transitory travel exemption and are 

coming into Massachusetts from any place other than a COVID-19 lower-risk State are required 

to either receive a negative test within 72 hours of coming into Massachusetts or quarantine for 

14 days. 

3. Where can I report concerns I may have about non-compliance with the Order?  

Individuals should contact the Massachusetts Department of Public Health or the Local Board of 

Health. Contact information for Local Boards of Health can be found here. 

4. If I develop symptoms but had a negative test what should I do? 

The 72-hour test is a diagnostic test that is a point in time clinical measurement. If you develop 

symptoms, you may need to be tested again and may need medical attention. 

5. I received a call that I should go into quarantine because I was exposed to someone who 

tested positive for COVID-19. My test came back negative 3 days ago. Do I still need to 

quarantine? 

Yes. If you were exposed to someone known to be COVID-19 positive, then you are at increased 

risk of becoming positive and will need to quarantine for 14 days in your home state. 

6. I had an antigen test which was negative, do I need to be tested again?  

Yes, a negative antigen test must be confirmed by a negative result from an FDA EUA-approved 

molecular (PCR) SARS-CoV2 test on a sample obtained 72 hours or less prior to arrival in 

Massachusetts. 

 


