Sustainable Greenfield Implementation Committee


The purpose of the Sustainable Greenfield Implementation Committee is to:
  • Facilitate the implementation of the City's Sustainable Master Plan, by identifying, recommending and implementing programs that foster a vital, sustainable and resilient community, focusing on the three interlocking aspects of sustainability: the economy, the environment, and society.
The committee operates under Chapter 186 of the City Charter and works closely with the Department of Energy & Sustainability.

You can see the Sustainable Greenfield Facebook page here.


The committee meets on the fourth Thursday of the month at 4:30 p.m. in the City Hall Meeting Room, Room 203, 14 Court Sq., Greenfield, MA 01301. Please check the calendar for scheduled meeting information, including agendas.

Eleven seats* / Three-year terms
Hannah Rechtschaffen, chair December 2025
George Touloumtzis, vice-chair, Planning Board designee Successor qualified
Phil Elmer, clerk, City councilor Successor qualified
MJ Adams, Planning & Development Department designee Successor qualified
Walter "Kim" Boas June 2025
Mary Chicoine December 2024
Carole Collins, Energy & Sustainability Department director December 2023
Nancy Hazard June 2025
Jonah Keane December 2025
Greta Shwachman, Greenfield Public Schools director of Food & Nutrition Services June 2024
Marlo Warner, Department of Public Works director Successor qualified
*The Sustainable Greenfield Implementation Committee has special requirements for its members: the director of Public Works or their designee, the Energy & Sustainability director or their designee, the director of Planning & Development or their designee, one City Councilor appointed by the City Council president, a representative of a youth-serving organization or school appointed by the mayor, a member of the Planning Board appointed by its chair, and five members of the public appointed by the mayor and confirmed by the City Council.