You may be eligible to reduce all or a portion of the taxes assessed on your domicile if you meet the qualifications for one of the personal exemptions allowed under Massachusetts Law. Qualifications vary, but generally relate to age, ownership, residency, disability, income or assets.
You may be eligible for an exemption if you fall into any of these categories:
- Blind - Exemption amount: $500
Proof of eligibility as follows: A certificate from the Commission for the Blind (must be current) The first year an exemption is sought, a letter from your physician certifying blindness in accordance with the specifications of the Commission for the Blind will be proof enough. After the first year, only a certificate from the Commission for the Blind will be accepted.
- Veteran with minimum 10% service connected disability - Exemption amount: $400
- Veterans awarded the Purple Heart - Exemption amount: $400
- Gold Star mothers and/or fathers - Exemption amount: $400
- Surviving spouses of Veterans who were eligible (if not remarried) - Exemption amount: $400
Veterans whose property is greater than a single family house will receive a portion of the following exemptions:
- Veterans who have lost one foot or one hand or one eye (in the line of duty) - Exemption amount: $750
- Veterans who have received the Congressional Medal of Honor, Distinguished Cross, Navy or Air Force Cross - Exemption amount: $750
- Veterans who have lost both feet or both hands or both eyes (in the line of duty) - Exemption amount: $1250
- Veterans who have suffered total disability (in the line of duty) and have specially adapted housing - Exempt amount: $1500.
- Veterans who have suffered total disability (in the line of duty) and are incapable of working - Exemption amount: $1000
- Veterans (and surviving spouses of veterans if not remarried) who are certified by the Veterans Administration as being paraplegic (service connected) - Exemption amount: Total taxes.
- Elderly - Exemption amount: $750 You must be 70 years of age by July 1st of the tax year. Own and occupy the property as of July 1st of the tax year. Own and occupied property in Massachusetts at least 5 years. Be a Massachusetts resident for 10 years. Meet income and asset guidelines. (For more information call the Greenfield Assessors office at 772-1506)
- Surviving Spouses - Minor Children of a deceased parent - Elderly - Exemption amount: $175 Own and occupy the property as of July 1 of the tax year. Your whole estate excluding the property cannot exceed $40,000.
- Hardship - Exemption amount: Varies
- Many qualifications must be met including all of the following:
-Aged (65 years)
Applying for any of the above does not stay the collection of your taxes. You must pay your tax bill as it is due and on time. If you pay the full years taxes and an exemption is granted you will receive a refund. Upon applying for an exemption, you may be required to provide the assessors with further information and supporting documentation to establish your eligibility. You will be notified in writing if an exemption is denied.
More information is available through the Assessors office.
Posted: Wed, Oct 7, 2015 10:03 AM
Updated Fri, Feb 15, 2019 12:00 AM